NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

In This Issue

Six NSM Faculty Honored with UH Faculty Excellence and Research Excellence Awards

Awards include the Esther Farfel Award to Stuart Dryer and individual awards for excellence in teaching and research.

2023 John C. Butler Excellence in Teaching Awards Announced

Congratulations to Dan Hauptvogel, instructional associate professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, and Rich Meisel, associate professor, Biology and Biochemistry.

Tai-Yen Chen Receives NSM Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

The award recognizes faculty at the rank of assistant professor who have demonstrated great potential in research and/or scholarship by virtue of the exceptional quality of their contributions.

2023 Winner of Faculty Award for Excellence in Service Announced

Congratulations to Nouhad Rizk, instructional professor, Department of Computer Science.

Tenure and DEI in Texas

This article provides information on three Texas Senate bills (SB 16, 17, and 18) and contains links to the bills, articles about the bills, and brief descriptions.

NSM Faculty Connect Over Broader Impact Initiatives

The session shared insight on what to include in a National Science Foundation proposal’s Broader Impacts section. A link to the presentation slides and other helpful links are provided.

Office of Research Update

Recent awarded grants, general reminders, What’s New announcements, and Gulf Coast Consortium News.

Student Success Update

Updates on Summer Scholars Academy graduates, Student Leadership Program, student engagement with NSM donors and alumni, NSM Career Center, and teachHOUSTON Alumni Panel.

Recognition & Honors

Recent achievements, publications, and awards.

Celebrating May Work Anniversaries

Congratulations to the following NSM staff and faculty who have work anniversaries this month.