NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

Scott Gilbertson to Serve as NSM Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Scott Gilbertson officially became the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs on July 1. He replaces the outgoing Associate Dean, Jim Briggs, who served in this position for the past eight years.

Dr. Gilbertson joined the University of Houston in 2009 as an M. D. Anderson Professor in the Department of Chemistry. His research is centered on the development of new synthetic methods and the utilization of synthetic chemistry for the study of important biological and medical problems.

Dr. Gilbertson has been the Associate Chair of the Department of Chemistry and is a long-standing member of the NSM Promotion and Tenure Committee. He has served on a number of search committees at both the departmental and institutional level, including the recent Provost Search Committee.

He has also served on the University Faculty Grievance Committee, the Provost’s Annual Performance Taskforce, the NSM Strategic Planning Committee, the UH Medical Education Committee, and the Intellectual Property Committee. Dr. Gilbertson was also the Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate Research and Scholarship Committee.