NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

NSM Celebrates Black History Month

Black History Month

The NSM DEI Faculty Committee, co-chaired by Johnny Wu (Earth & Atmospheric Sciences), Mariam Manuel (teachHOUSTON), and Jim Briggs (Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs), planned several communications to the NSM students, faculty, and staff in celebration of Black History Month.

An email, prepared by Ny Riavo “Voary” Voarintsoa, went out on February 7 to NSM faculty, staff, and students outlining what Black History Month represents and how it began. In addition, NSM Black alumni will be highlighted on NSM social media accounts (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn) and on the six digital screens operated by NSM in five of our buildings. Spotlights include former astronaut Bernard Harris, Patrice O. Yarbough a retired senior scientist from NASA Johnson Space Center, and Donna Stokes, UH physics professor and NSM Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs and Student Success.

The DEI Committee is also working to arrange a visit to the University Art Museum at Texas Southern University followed by a discussion.