NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

Tom Lapen to Serve as Chair of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Department

Tom Lapen will officially become Chair of the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences on August 1, 2019. He replaces the outgoing Chair, Hua-wei Zhou, who is stepping down after serving for six years.

Dr. Lapen joined UH in 2005 as an Assistant Professor and was promoted to full Professor in 2016. His research expertise is in isotope geochemistry, geochronology, and petrology. He is a Fellow of the Geological Society of America and received NSM’s John C. Butler Excellence in Teaching Award in 2008.

He served as the Associate Chair of EAS from 2016–2018 and as the Geology Graduate Advisor from 2012–2016. In addition, he has served as a member of the UH Faculty Senate and on numerous College-level committees.