NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

Faculty Recognition & Honors

NSM Awards

John C. Butler Excellence in Teaching Award

Melahat Almus (Mathematics) and Thomas Teets (Chemistry) are the 2019 recipients. Established in memory of former NSM Dean John Butler, the award recognizes faculty members who best engage and challenge their students and who share their enthusiasm for the subject matter they teach.

Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

Thomas Teets (Chemistry) is the 2019 recipient of this award recognizing assistant professors who have demonstrated great potential in research and in scholarship by virtue of the exceptional quality of their contributions.

Other Awards & Recognition

Andre Cardoso Barato (Physics) was honored by the American Physical Society as an Outstanding Referee. The designation recognizes scientists who have been exceptionally helpful in assessing manuscripts for publication in the APS journals.

Eric Bittner (Chemistry) was honored with the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award from Valparaiso University.

Shuhab Khan (Earth & Atmospheric Sciences) and recent Ph.D. graduate Unal Okyay were the first place recipients of the prestigious 2019 John I. Davidson President’s Award for Practical Papers from the American Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.

Ognjen Miljanic (Chemistry) has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the United Kingdom’s professional society dedicated to advancing excellence in the chemical sciences. Entry to Fellow status is granted to professional chemists who have made significant contributions to advancing their field.

Chad Wayne (Biology & Biochemistry) received the 2019 Outstanding Faculty Award from the UH Alumni Association Foundation. The award, presented at the 65th Annual Alumni Awards Gala, recognizes UH faculty members who excel in both teaching and in building a sense of community among students.