NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

Kevin Bassler Appointed Chair of Physics Department

Kevin Bassler will officially become Chair of the Department of Physics on August 1, 2019. He replaces the outgoing Chair, Gemunu Gunaratne, who is stepping down after serving for six years.

Dr. Bassler was first appointed as an Assistant Professor at UH in 2000 and was promoted to full Professor in 2011. His research expertise is in complex systems and non-equilibrium statistical mechanics.

He received NSM’s John C. Butler Excellence in Teaching Award in 2003 and the UH Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship in 2005. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and has held a Moores Professorship since 2014.

Dr. Bassler has served as the Chair of Physics Graduate Studies, as a member of the Physics Executive Committee, and as a member of the UH Faculty Senate.