NSM Faculty/Staff Newsletter

From the Office of the Dean

Donna Pattison Receives Faculty Senate Award for Excellence in Service – Lifetime Achievement

The UH Faculty Senate gives a Lifetime Achievement Award to a Faculty Senator who has served in the Senate for at least six years and who has rendered outstanding service and dedication to shared governance in that role. This award program alternates annually between senators who have served 2-6 years and those who have served 6 or more years.

This year’s recipient is Donna Pattison, Instructional Professor in Biology and Biochemistry and NSM Assistant Dean for Student Success. Donna will receive $500 and a plaque in recognition of her outstanding service. She is among the most active and dedicated of those who serve in the Faculty Senate. Congratulations, Donna!

Donna has been a member of the Faculty Senate for eight years during which she has served on five of the eight standing committees (Budget and Facilities, Community and Government Relations, Executive, Faculty Governance, and Undergraduate) and two UH Standing Committees (Sustainability and the Student Center Policy Board). She has made substantive contributions to all of these committees and has chaired the Faculty Governance Committee and the Community and Government Relations Committee and served as the Secretary of the Senate.

Donna has also chaired and co-chaired many ad hoc committees and subcommittees over the years. She has been involved in the development of a wide range of university policies, including the Non-Tenure Track Policy.